[Heritage] Oregon Heritage News 2011-09-23
heritage.info at state.or.us
Fri Sep 23 08:38:20 PDT 2011
In this issue:
1. CAP Applications Available Soon
2. Economics of Heritage Workshop Set
3. Preservation and Restoration Courses Offered
4. Hangar Subject of Preservation Project
5. Exhibit to Explore Quilts and Women of Oregon Trail
CAP APPLICATIONS AVAILABLE SOON
The 2012 Conservation Assessment Program (CAP) application will be
available as an online form at http://www.heritagepreservation.org/CAP
beginning Oct. 3. Applicants can fill in the form online, or download it
as a PDF or Microsoft Word fill in form. A mailed paper application is
available to those who specifically request it. Heritage Preservation
reviews applications upon receipt and makes awards on a rolling basis.
Funding requests are nearly double that of available funds, so submit
your completed applications as soon as possible. The deadline to submit
CAP 2012 applications is December 1, 2011. To confirm whether you are on
the CAP application mailing list, verify your e-mail address, or request
a paper application, contact CAP at (202) 233-0800 or
cap at heritagepreservation.org .
ECONOMICS OF HERITAGE WORKSHOP SET
The Willamette Falls Heritage Area Coalition will present two workshops
titled “The Economics of Heritage” with special guest Donovan
Rypkema at 8 a.m. and 7 p.m. on Oct. 4 in the Clackamas County
Historical Society’s Tumwater Room, 211 Tumwater Drive, Oregon City.
The morning and evening workshops will include presentations by Rypkema
and a Coalition-member led round-table discussion with the audience on
catalyst projects for the Willamette Falls National Heritage Area.
Audience members will have the chance to share opinions and ideas on how
the National Heritage Area can best benefit the community. Rypkema is
the author of various publications, including “The Economics of
Historic Preservation: A Community Leader’s Guide”, a standard for
preservationists nationwide. For further information, visit
www.wfheritage.org/events.html . To register for the event, email
info at wfheritage.org or call (503) 318-9474.
PRESERVATION AND RESTORATION COURSES OFFERED
Clatsop Community College will offer new workshop in roof restoration
as part of its slate of preservation and restoration courses and
workshops this fall. “BLD 224: Yeon House Roof Restoration” will
provide students with a hands-on opportunity in the restoration of the
cedar shingle roof on the 1956 Norman Yeon House. The house is an
example of the Northwest Regional style. For more information, visit
www.clatsopcc.edu, contact Lucien Swerdloff at (503) 338.2301 or
lswerdloff at clatsopcc.edu .
HANGAR SUBJECT OF PRESERVATION PROJECT
The National Park Service at Fort Vancouver National Historic Site
recently began a historic preservation project on the hangar building at
Pearson Air Museum. Built around 1918, the building originally served
the Cut-up Plant of the Vancouver Spruce Mill, operated by the U. S.
Army Signal Corps’ Spruce Production Division. The Army Air Service
moved the building to its present location around 1924.
The hangar, a large rectangular structure with a gambrel roof, rests on
a concrete foundation and has a wood lap-siding exterior. The corrugated
metal roof features a distinctive painted yellow and black checkered
pattern. Federally owned and managed by the National Park Service as
part of Fort Vancouver National Historic Site, the building sits among
other facilities at the Pearson Air Museum complex. It is one of a few
remaining buildings from the Spruce Mill era and represents the site's
later aviation history. Its repurposing as an aircraft hangar in the
1920s, during the Golden Age of Aviation, also serves as an early
example of adaptive reuse.
In July 2009, the Park Service commissioned a historic paint analysis
of the hangar’s exterior and interior as part of the compliance
process required on a structure listed on the National Register of
Historic Places. The project work includes the removal of lead-based
paint from the building and the immediate grounds next to the building,
repainting of the building’s exterior walls -- including window frames
and trim - to their historic colors, and incidental work of repair and
replacement of excessively deteriorated wood siding. The project, which
is under budget and ahead of schedule, will be complete by September 30,
2011. For more information, visit
http://www.fortvan.org/pages/pearson-air-museum , email Greg Shine,
Chief Ranger and Historian, Greg_Shine at nps.gov or call (360) 816-6231.
EXHIBIT TO EXPLORE QUILTS AND WOMEN OF OREGON TRAIL
Between 1840 and 1870 thousands of women arrived in the Northwest by
way of the Oregon Trail bringing with them heirloom quilts, stored away
for months in trunks specially built to protect them from the hazards of
weather, rivers, fire and dust. A new exhibit, “Treasures from the
Trunk: Quilts and Their Makers After the Oregon Trail Journey”, will
open on Sept. 23 and run until Dec. 24 at the Willamette Heritage
Center, 1313 Mill Street SE, Salem. Exhibit curator and quilt historian
Mary Baywater Cross explores the inventiveness of these women through a
collection of sixteen historic quilts and the moving stories that
accompany them. For further information, call (503) 585-7012 or visit
Grant deadlines are approaching!
Visit http://www.oregonheritage.org to learn more.
Oregon Heritage News is a service of the Oregon Heritage Commission.
Contact us by emailing heritage.info at state.or.us .
More information about the Heritage