[Libs-Or] AL Live Webinar: Landing Your Ideal Library Job

Nicole Purviance nicole.purviance at sjsu.edu
Tue Jan 8 10:23:14 PST 2013


SJSU Career Center Liaison Joins Panel to Discuss the Library Job Market

 

The recently launched free streaming video broadcast from American
Libraries, AL Live, is diving into the topic that is weighing on the minds
of many future and current librarians in its second episode. "Landing Your
Ideal Library Job" focuses on the library job market and the challenges that
librarians at all points in their careers are facing in navigating it. 

Host David Connolly, who is the manager of the ALA JobLIST site
<http://joblist.ala.org/> , will be joined by panel members Jill Klees
<http://slisweb.sjsu.edu/people/staff/career-center-liaison-slis> , Career
Center Liaison to the School of Library and Information Science at San Jose
State University, and Bohyun Kim, Digital Access Librarian at Florida
International University Medical Library. 

 

As the San Jose State University Career Center Liaison, Klees is the go-to
person for all things career related. In addition to providing career
guidance to SJSU School of Library and Information Science graduate
students, she coordinates the Career Colloquium Series
<https://slisapps.sjsu.edu/blogs/colloquia/?cat=15>  and oversees the
plethora of Career Development <http://slisweb.sjsu.edu/career-development>
resources available for free on the SLIS website: http://slisweb.sjsu.edu
<http://slisweb.sjsu.edu/> . You can chat with Klees on the next episode of
AL Live.

 

Event:             AL Live

Date:               Thursday, January 10, 2013

Time:              1:00 p.m. Central, 2:00 p.m. Eastern, Noon Mountain,
11:00 a.m. Pacific

Location:        Online at  <http://www.americanlibrarieslive.org>
http://www.americanlibrarieslive.org

 

AL Live is accessible from anywhere - your home, library, or favorite Wi-Fi
spot - and features broadcasts about library issues and trends in real time.
Participants can interact with experts via a live chat, offering immediate
answers to questions. The episodes are archived for future viewing at your
convenience.

 

The San Jose State University School of Library and Information Science
offers two fully online master's degrees, a fully online post master's
certificate program, and a doctoral program: Master of Library and
Information Science (MLIS), Master of Archives and Records Administration
(MARA), Post-Master's Certificate in Library and Information Science, and
the San Jose Gateway PhD Program. Let the learning begin:
http://slisweb.sjsu.edu <http://slisweb.sjsu.edu/> 

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://listsmart.osl.state.or.us/pipermail/libs-or/attachments/20130108/7af3c4af/attachment.html>


More information about the Libs-Or mailing list