[OSMB-News] News Release
Ashley.Massey at state.or.us
Thu May 4 13:47:23 PDT 2006
For Immediate Release Thursday, May 4, 2006
Keep the Waterways Safe this Memorial Day Weekend
With boaters taking to the waterways for the start of the summer
Oregon State Marine Board reminds boaters to "Boat Safe, Boat Sober."
Salem, Ore. -As Memorial Day weekend kicks off the boating season in
Oregon, the Oregon State Marine Board (OSMB) encourages those headed to
the water for fun, to stay sober.
"It's this simple: Boaters should refrain from consuming alcohol
while on Oregon's waterways," said Ashley Massey, OSMB public affairs
specialist. "Every year, a fun day on the water turns tragic because of
alcohol." According to OSMB statistics, 50 percent of boating accidents
and one-third of boating fatalities in Oregon each year are
Alcohol or other substances impair vision, balance, judgment and
coordination and are amplified on the water due to the motion of the
boat and environmental stressors such as glare, wind and sun -
increasing the likelihood of boating accidents and fatalities. In fact,
the U.S. Coast Guard says that a boat operator whose blood alcohol
concentration exceeds 0.10 percent is 10 times more likely to be killed
in a boating accident.
In Oregon, a boater is considered legally "under the influence" with a
blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.08 percent or higher. Plus,
marine officers can still arrest boaters for impairment below 0.08
percent. An impaired boat operator who is arrested for Boating Under the
Influence of Intoxicants (BUII) in Oregon faces fines of up to $6,250
and/or up to one year in jail, loss of boat operation privileges for a
period of time and suspension of boat registration for up to three
"A BUII offense is a serious violation of Oregon law," said Massey. "We
have to be tough on violators to keep Oregon's waterways safe for
To avoid receiving a BUII citation and to prevent boating accidents and
fatalities, the Marine Board offers the following tips:
* Leave alcohol at home or on the shore. Instead, take along a
variety of non-alcoholic beverages.
* If you are feeling fatigued, take a break on land and return to
the water when you are reenergized and alert.
* If you dock somewhere to eat and choose to drink alcohol with
your meal, wait a minimum of one hour for each drink consumed before
* Being alcohol-free while onboard is the safest way to enjoy the
water. Intoxicated passengers are equally at risk of injury and death.
* Operators and passengers should wear properly fitting personal
flotation devices (life jackets). A full description of life jackets can
be found at www.BoatOregon.com.
* Take a boating safety course. In Oregon, boaters 50 years of age
and younger must carry a boater education card when operating a
powerboat greater than 10 horsepower.
For more information about safe boating in Oregon, contact Ashley
Massey, OSMB public affairs specialist, 503.378.2623 or visit
# # #
The Oregon State Marine Board was created in 1959 by the Oregon
Legislature in response to
the growing popularity of recreational boating and the federal Boating
Safety Act of 1958.
Headquartered in Salem, OSMB works to provide boaters with safety,
marine law enforcement, boating facilities and titling and registration
For more information visit www.BoatOregon.com.
MEDIA NOTE: Interviews with officers, patrol ride-alongs and photos are
available. Please contact Ashley Massey or your local marine patrol
officer, if you would like to schedule an interview or a ride-along.
Electronic or hard copies of photos are available from Ashley Massey at
Ashley A. Massey
Public Affairs Specialist
Oregon State Marine Board
503-378-8587 ext. 82623
ashley.massey at state.or.us
More information about the OSMB-News