[OSMB-News] News Release -It*s Time to Learn Boating Safety if You Are 60 and Younger
Ashley.Massey at state.or.us
Mon Dec 4 15:11:36 PST 2006
For Immediate Release Date: Monday, December 4, 2006
It's Time to Learn Boating Safety if You Are 60 and Younger
The Mandatory Boater Education program is past the half-way point of the age required phase-in. Beginning in 2007, powerboat operators 60 and younger will be required to take a boating safety course and carry their boater education card when operating boats greater than 10 hp.
"This is our largest group of registered boat owners," says MariAnn Koloszar, Education Coordinator for the Oregon State Marine Board. "There are approximately 36,000 registered boat owners between 51 and 60 years old who will need their education cards in 2007."
Boaters have several options to meet the mandatory education requirement. "We encourage boaters to take advantage of classroom courses," says Koloszar. "It's the best learning environment because the instructors use various teaching techniques that cater to different learning styles. Classroom course materials are organized to make learning easy, fun and interactive. Boaters also have an opportunity to learn about local hot spots and hazards -information you can only get in a classroom with other boaters." Koloszar adds.
The U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary, U. S. Power Squadrons, Oregon State Marine Board Volunteer Instructors and other private providers offer classroom courses.
Your local Sheriff's office offers free equivalency exams that are designed for the experienced boater. Approved Internet courses are also available and course information can all be found at the Marine Board's website at www.boatoregon.com. Prices for the different education options range from free to around $45. Classes and equivalency exams are scheduled to fit boaters' needs.
So far the Marine Board has issued almost 150,000 cards and has one of the top compliances for mandatory education in the nation. The fine for not carrying a card, along with other law enforcement violation fines, was increased in 2006 from $94 to $97.
Ashley A. Massey
Public Affairs Specialist
Oregon State Marine Board
503-378-8587 ext. 82623
ashley.massey at state.or.us
More information about the OSMB-News